Update from Indian School of Business

The results are in – and I’M IN.

This officially makes it 4/4. I got into all the schools I applied to. It’s a wonderful feeling! 🙂

Interview Debrief:

I’ve heard a lot of ISB interview horror stories, and I expected an interview that was a complete departure from my US bschool interviews. But it was a surprisingly candid and chilled out interview. I had 2 interviewers – one alum and an adcom and it was a Skype interview. I was asked fairly standard questions most of which centered around what I’d written in my resume. I think the interview would be very stressful indeed for people who exaggerate their achievements as they specifically asked how I arrived at the numbers I listed (in terms of revenue profits) and exactly how I achieved particular things that I’d listed.

I had my interview at 11.15AM. I got an admit email at 7PM. I must say, that’s quite the turnaround time!

Thoughts:

While I know that Kellogg and UCLA are leaps and bounds ahead of ISB in terms of rankings as well as the MBA experience, I can’t help but give it a serious thought. I intend to return to India post-MBA (in a few years) to pursue my long term goal of entrepreneurship, and ISB has a great brand name and network in India. It would also be much easier on me and my partner if I pursue a degree in India (my spouse does not intend to move to the US with me while I study) and since ISB is a 1Y program, it means that I’ll be returning to the workforce sooner. The only thing I’m not excited about when it comes to ISB is the dearth of international opportunities post-MBA and the experience of studying abroad that I’ve always craved.

While a lot of people were surprised by my decision to even attend the last-minute interview, I believe I would be remiss to dismiss the many merits of the school and not consider the above factors while making a decision about my future.

I’ll make a final decision by tomorrow and share it with y’all. Until then, Ciao! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Update from Indian School of Business

  1. Wow! Nice. Congratulations. You have your options now. Hard decision to make. I think you must push for your dreams (as you have the opportunity), don’t worry about cash. International experience will be unique within. Rest, all upto you. Will wait to see what you choose. Best wishes. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Vandana, I have followed your posts and love the way you have presented your journey. Congrats on your admit! I think you make some very valid points about how ISB could be a equally good choice for someone whose short term goals are centered in Asia. I agree with your point on international experience, however international oppurtunities are available after ISB as well. Its just not as natually a consequence of the MBA as opposed to the colleges abroad where you’d find a job in the place where you studied (thus making it international). I personally rejected my offer to a top 15 MBA and chose ISB over it because I don’t want to invest 2 years and about 150,000$ for my MBA. I am sure there are several who’d act differently from what I did. The important aspect is to recognize the pros and cons of each descision and weight them without biases, which I believe you have done! Good luck to you 🙂

    Like

  3. Ahhh, congratulations again! This is going to be a tough call, but I know for a fact that wherever you choose to go, you’re going to excel and create your own opportunities rather than just waiting around for things to happen. You’re clearly more than capable as all your admits will attest, so when it comes to your career in the future, I think you’re solid. The rest of course comes down to what kind of an experience you want and fit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. All the best Vandana. It was lovely interacting with you. I, on the other hand, is on the other side of the spectrum. Hope something works out.
    All the best

    Like

Leave a Reply

